AUA President Armen Der Kiureghian Honored with Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America’s Victor Hambartsumyan Award 

3 min read

GLENDALE, California, USA – During an event on November 1 that marked the Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America’s (AESA) 32nd anniversary, AUA President Armen Der Kiureghian received AESA’s Victor Hambartsumyan Award. 

“AESA’s Victor Hambartsumyan Award could not have been bestowed on a more deserving person than Dr. Der Kiureghian,” noted Dr. Marina Guevrekian, President of AESA, in her introduction of the honoree.  “There are many parallels in the lives of Academician Victor Hambartsumyan and Dr. Der Kiureghian.  They both have had stellar contributions to their fields of expertise, while being involved in civic and community activities. They both have been recognized by their peers, as scientists of international stature.  With our focus on young engineers, scientists, and community service, he is the best example for all of us,” Dr. Guevrekian said.

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Der Kiureghian shared the history of AUA and his vision for the University. He noted that AUA was recently awarded a nine-year reaffirmation of its accreditation by the US-based Western Association of Schools and Colleges, a clear indication of the high quality of education at the University.  Dr. Der Kiureghian invited U.S. students to explore the various academic options at AUA. From AUA’s Study Abroad program and summer courses, to degree programs leading to a bachelor’s or a master’s degree, the University can meet a variety of student needs and interests. AUA offers three undergraduate and eight graduate degree programs in which more than 1,500 students are currently enrolled. The AUA Study Abroad program is currently in its third year of existence.

Vice President for Development and External Relations Lorraine Alexander, AUA Trustee Zaven Akian, and major AUA donor Sara Chitjian were also present, as was Der Kiureghian’s spouse, Nelly, and children, Naira and Sebouh. Other honorees at the event included Sarkis Barkhoudarian, who was recognized for his services and dedication to AESA for the past 22 years. AESA also recognized, for the first time, young professionals for their achievements in science, engineering, innovation and community service. 

“Our two honorees are the testimonial of the value we give to accomplished scientists and engineers who have been prominent in their careers as well as community service.  They are the best role models for our young generation” was an important theme noted by AESA’s President.

AESA was founded in 1983 in Glendale, California as a non-partisan and non-sectarian philanthropic organization focused primarily on addressing the professional, technical, and scientific needs of fellow Armenian engineers, scientists, industrialists, and architects throughout the world. Since its inception 32 years ago, AESA has organized two World Armenian Scientific Congresses.  The First World Congress was held in the United States and the Second World Congress was jointly organized with Ararat Academy of Sciences of France, which was held at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris in 1993.

AESA has also organized several symposia and has conducted and facilitated various technical projects in Armenia and in Armenian communities.  It has organized numerous workshops and lectures in Armenia whose topics have included energy, environmental protection, transportation, and information processing.

Founded in 1991, the American University of Armenia (AUA) is a private, independent university located in Yerevan, Armenia and affiliated with the University of California. AUA provides a global education in Armenia and the region, offering high-quality, graduate and undergraduate studies, encouraging civic engagement, and promoting public service and democratic values.


AESA 32nd Anniversary Organizing Committee and the Awardees

From left to right:     Mr. Vazgen Ghoogassian,  Ms. Armineh Khachatoorian,  Mr. Sarkis Barkhoudarian, Dr. Armen Der Kiureghian, Mr. Grigor Varuzhanyan,  Mr. Vladimir Arutyunov, Dr. Marina Guevrekian,  Mr. Christ Kirikian,  Mr. Vicken Bekarian,  Mr. Mark Abajian  and  Dr. Mardy Kazarians.  (Absent: Mr. Arin Abed, Mr. Vrej Aghajanian, Dr. Shirag  Shemmassian)

With the board With Sarkis Barkhoudarian




Share This: